Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Plant Hide may earn a small commission if you make a purchase at no additional cost to you. Please send an email if you have questions. Thanks for your support and for keeping Plant Hide ad-free.Contents hide2 Vegan Uncrustables Flavors
Many of us ate Uncrustables when we were kids, particularly the jelly and peanut butter version. As time passed, Smuckers has expanded their Uncrustables chain to include a variety of choices that are simple to grab and eat when you’re in hurry.
But are Smucker’s Uncrustables vegan?
A majority of these little crustless sandwiches are vegetarian! However, none of the Uncrustables rolls or bites are vegan because they contain dairy products and meat. Take note that there are a lot of fake ingredients found in Smucker’s Uncrustables, which means these vegan sandwiches aren’t the healthiest option for a meal. The best alternatives to Uncrustables for vegans are the frozen bowls from Amy’s, Daily Harvest, and Healthy Choice.
Anyways, in this post, we delve a bit into Smucker’s Uncrustables vegan-friendly flavors and the ingredients!
Are PB&J Smuckers Uncrustables Vegan & Healthy?
While they’re delicious as well as a simple vegan meal or snack, none of Smucker’s Uncrustables products are healthy. This, of course, includes PB&J Smuckers Uncrustables.
It doesn’t have anything to do with being high in calories or having lots of sugar, although this also is the case. The list of unhealthy ingredients in each food item is extremely lengthy. Additionally, a good portion of the ingredients is chemical substances that help keep food items fresher for longer which makes them less suitable for consumption.
While some Uncrustables meals are vegan, it’s more healthy to make copies of their products yourself using homemade ingredients. There shouldn’t be much of a cost difference – you might even save money – and you’ll be avoiding the use of artificial ingredients in your body.
Here are a few products available on Amazon to make your own healthier vegan Uncrustables at home:
Vegan Uncrustables Flavors
Even though they’re not so healthy, vegan Uncrustables have their place in the world of vegan junk food. Here’s a comprehensive list of the vegan flavor options from Uncrustables:
Smucker’s Uncrustables Peanut Butter and Grape Jelly
This is probably the flavor that most people associate with when they’re thinking of Uncrustables. It was my husband’s favorite growing up, and he had no idea it was vegan.
I’m now also a big fan of the PB and J combination and was thrilled to learn they’re an animal product-free product. However, I prefer to make my own PB&J sandwiches with natural peanut butter, healthier grape jelly, and whole wheat bread. Here are some of my favorite ingredients:
Uncrustables Whole Wheat Strawberry
If you’re not a fan of grape jelly or are looking for something different, this is a great vegan option. The strawberries provide a nice sweetness and compliment the peanut butter well. However, this strawberry jam is a healthier, tastier option:
Vegan Uncrustables FAQ
Are PBJ Uncrustables vegan?
Yes, all of Smucker’s PBJ Uncrustables flavors are vegan. However, they’re not so healthy, and you can make a healthier version at home. Make sure to check the ingredients if you’re going for any of their other options!
Can Vegans eat PB&J?
Yes, vegans can eat PB&J sandwiches. The Smucker’s Uncrustables products are vegan, but they’re not as healthy as homemade versions. You can make your own vegan PB&Js yourself using the healthier ingredients outlined in this post.
Do Uncrustables have eggs?
No, the Smucker’s Uncrustables do not have eggs. However, make sure to check the ingredients list before you purchase these products.
Is there dairy in Uncrustables?
Yes, some Uncrustables products use dairy. However, Smucker’s Uncrustables do not have eggs. We recommend double-checking the ingredients list before purchasing these products.
Are Uncrustables unhealthy?
Uncrustables are generally unhealthy because they’re made with processed ingredients like white flour and sugar. However, you can make your own vegan versions using healthier ingredients like whole wheat flour and natural peanut butter. These homemade versions are both healthier and tastier than the store-bought variety.
If you have any other questions about veganism or vegan junk food, feel free to reach out directly. Thanks for reading!
Love this post? Make sure to check out our other post “Are Ritz Crackers Vegan-Friendly?“