Are S’Mores Oreos vegan? The short answer is “yes.” But if you’re looking for more insight into S’More Oreos, Oreos in general, and veganism, read on.

Are S'Mores Oreos Vegan?

S’mores Oreos are, in fact, vegan. The sandwich cookies are made with a graham cracker-flavored cookie and a marshmallow-flavored creme filling. Both the cookie and the creme are vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Keep reading for more information about s’mores, S’Mores Oreos, and Oreos and how they fare in the world of veganism.

Are S’mores Vegan?

The classic American s’more is made with a toasted marshmallow and chocolate sandwiched between two graham crackers. While this treat can be vegan, it often is not. Most marshmallows are made with gelatin, which is derived from animal collagen. Many commercially-available graham crackers also contain honey.

So, while the classic s’more can be vegan, it often is not. If you’re looking for a vegan s’more, be sure to check the ingredients of your marshmallows and graham crackers before assembling your treat.

Are Oreos Vegan?

Oreos are one of the most popular cookies in the world and they just so happen to be vegan. The cookie itself is made with a handful of simple, vegan ingredients like wheat flour, sugar, palm and/or canola oil, and cocoa.

The Oreo filling is where things get a bit more complicated because many people assume that the traditional Oreo filling is made with milk and cream, which would make it unsuitable for vegans. However, Oreo filling is not made with any dairy.

What is Oreo cream made of?

Oreo cream is actually made with a few simple vegan ingredients. The main ingredients are sugar, artificial flavor, high fructose corn syrup, soy lecithin, and palm and/or canola oil. Other ingredients may be present in smaller amounts.

The exact recipe for Oreo cream filling is a closely guarded secret. However, we do know that the filling is likely to contain the ingredients listed above. Regardless, we know that while it’s not healthy, it’s safe for vegan consumption.

What About S’Mores Oreos?

Even though s’mores tend to have animal-derived gelatin and honey, S’Mores Oreos are completely vegan. The cookies are made with a graham cracker-flavored cookie and a marshmallow-flavored creme filling. Neither the cookie nor the creme contains any animal-derived ingredients, making S’Mores Oreos perfectly safe for vegans to enjoy.

If you’re looking for a tasty vegan treat, S’Mores Oreos are a great option. If you decide to make traditional s’mores, be sure to check the ingredients of your marshmallows and graham crackers before assembling them as not all brands are vegan-friendly.

S’Mores Oreos Ingredients

If you’re wondering what’s actually in S’Mores Oreos, here’s a list of the ingredients:

Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid), Palm and/or Canola Oil, Graham Flour (Whole Grain Wheat Flour) High Fructose Corn Syrup, Cornstarch, Cocoa (Processed with Alkali) Salt, Baking Soda, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Caramel Color, Soy Lecithin.

Oreo FAQ

Which Oreos are vegan?

The current vegan Oreo flavors lineup consists of Mint, Lemon, Dark Chocolate, Hazelnut Chocolate, Caramel Coconut, Java Chip, Birthday Cake, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Peanut Butter Pie, Carrot Cake, Chocolate Marshmallow, and Chocolate.

Are the ingredients in Oreos vegan?

According to Oreo, their cookies are vegan … but they don’t actually say it outright. If you visit their official website, you’ll see that the only ingredients listed for the cookies are “unbleached enriched flour, sugar, palm and/or canola oil, cocoa high fructose corn syrup, leavening, cornstarch salt soy lecithin vanillin and unsweetened chocolate.”

Is there a s’mores Oreo?

Although Nabisco released Oreo S’mores Cookies in 2015 as a limited-edition flavor, it looks like they’re making a comeback in 2021. People speculated that the cookies would return in 2020, but unfortunately, that didn’t happen.

Can vegans eat chocolate Oreos?

While some Oreo flavors don’t use any animal products, the cookies are only marketed as being suitable for vegetarians. According to the Oreo website: “No, OREO have milk as cross contact and therefore they are not suitable for vegans.”

When did Oreo go vegan?

In the mid-1990s, Nabisco switched from lard to partially hydrogenated vegetable oil in their products. Then, in 2006, they progressed by trading out the partially hydrogenated vegetable oil for non-hydrogenated vegetable oil. The company kept making advancements; 2013 saw them remove whey powder from their product and finally, in 2014, US Oreos became vegan friendly.