Wondering how to order vegan at Taco Bell? You’re certainly not alone!

Taco Bell has many appeals – it’s fast, there’s a drive-thru, the food is consistent, and with over 7,000 Taco Bell locations in the US alone, there’s always one nearby.

In July 2020, the chain caused an uproar by removing its beloved potatoes – in addition to other items – to make way for new plant-based options in the then-undetermined future.

After more than a six-month hiatus, the brand reintroduced this starchy staple as a precursor to more vegan options to come.

A select few got a taste of those new options on June 27, 2021, in the form of a vegan Naked Chicken Chalupa, though that offering has long since sold out. While we wait for this item to find its place on the permanent menu, here is your vegan guide to Taco Bell the next time you roll through the drive-thru.

Fresco Style At Taco Bell, this is essentially code for “make it vegan.” Virtually any item can be ordered fresco-style, and the employees know to replace all the animal ingredients with tomatoes. That being said, there are some foods that probably aren’t very appealing when ordered fresco-style (a fresco-style quesadilla is little more than a folded tortilla).

Below, we’ve included the items that offer incredible Taco Bell flavors even when the animal products are removed. Keep reading to learn more about which Taco Bell menu items are and can be made vegan.

How to Order Vegan at Taco Bell vegan nacho fries

Vegan Nacho Fries

The crispy potatoes are a fabulous option to spruce up any menu item, but there’s another way to get your spud fix: Nacho Fries. When ordered without the cheese sauce, these Mexican-spiced French fries are vegan-friendly.

For more substance, order with a side of guacamole, pico de gallo, or your favorite Taco Bell hot sauce.

are cinnamon twists vegan

Cinnamon Twists are Vegan

No shame if you order more than one bag. These crispy, light-as-air snacks are slightly reminiscent of churros and Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal.

It’s hard to believe that something so delicious is accidentally vegan, but we’re not complaining.

is hot sauce vegan How to Order Vegan at Taco Bell

Hot Sauce

Hotter is always better, right? Right.

Always order more hot sauce packets than you will actually use in one sitting and keep a stash of this instant flavor-enhancer at home.

The Diablo, Fire, Hot, Mild, and Red sauces are all vegan. There’s no cruelty involved in these hot sauces, but we can’t say they’re completely cruelty free the day after when we’re feeling the burn!

How to Order Vegan at Taco Bell black bean crunchwrap supreme

Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme

Taco Bell managed to invent a food item even more portable than the burrito: the Crunchwrap Supreme.

Order this without the sour cream and nacho cheese sauce, and you’re left with a hot, freshly pressed soft tortilla filled with black beans, salsa, lettuce, and a crunchy tortilla shell.

And don’t forget to ask for a side of guacamole for dipping! We like to spoon it on into the crunchwrap to make it even more filling.

Black Bean Chalupa

This fried, flour-based shell is thicker than a crunchy taco and arguably more delicious. Ask for this fresco style and you’ll get a crunchy chalupa filled with black beans, tomatoes, and lettuce.

Loaded nacho taco taco bell vegan

Loaded Nacho Taco

This is on the value menu! Ask for this fresco-style and swap the beef with black beans.

You’ll receive a flour tortilla loaded with beans, lettuce, crunchy red strips, and tomatoes. Splurge a little and add guacamole, diced onions, and sliced jalapeños.

And don’t forget the Diablo sauce!

soft and crunchy vegan tacos from taco bell

Soft and Crunchy Tacos

Replace the beef with either black or refried beans and ask for fresco style on the Soft, Crunchy, or Soft Taco Supreme, and your handhold will be vegan-friendly. You’ll get your choice of taco shell with beans, lettuce, and diced tomatoes.

Check out the add-ons we’ve listed at the bottom of this article for ways to customize your tacos.

vegan bean burrito taco bell

Bean Burrito

Surprisingly, the bean burrito isn’t vegan as-is (it contains cheese). However, order it fresco style, and you’re set with a warm flour tortilla wrapped around refried beans, red sauce, diced onions, and chopped tomatoes.

Add rice for more sustenance. The additional carbs will keep you feeling full for longer and make the meal more filling.

power menu bowl How to Order Vegan at Taco Bell

Power Menu Bowl – Veggie

Skip the cheese and ranch and you’re golden. When ordered fresco style, the deep bowl is made with a bed of seasoned rice, black beans, lettuce, chopped tomatoes, and guac.

No animal products in this meal whatsoever! You could eat it with a spoon, but we prefer to order a side of chips for scooping.

beans and rice Vegan at Taco Bell

Beans and Rice

No need to worry about any chicken broth lurking in these staples. Taco Bell’s bowl of black beans and rice is certified vegan. It’s simple; beans, rice, and a spoon to scoop it into your mouth. For those who prefer a minimalist meal, T-Bell is making waves with their signature beans and rice.

vegan potatoes taco bell


As of March 11, 2021, the potatoes are back! Add these to any order to amp up the starchy satisfaction.

If you’re carb lovers like us, then you’ll want to add potatoes to everything. Fortunately, they’re vegan! Choose from french fries, hash browns, or a cheesy potato soft taco.

Note: The Spicy Potato Soft Taco and Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes are not currently vegan. But if you order them fresno-style, you may be able to get them veganized without the cheese.

taco bell chips and salsa vegan

Chips and Salsa

These are the perfect appetizers for vegans and non-vegans alike. The chips are crispy and the salsa is flavorful, making for a delicious duo.

Taco Bell’s chips are fried in vegetable oil, so they’re vegan-friendly. And the Mild and Hot sauces are also vegan, so feel free to dunk away!

Taco Bell’s Vegan Add-ons

Still hungry? Remember, you can always add these ingredients to bulk up and add flavor to your order: black beans, refried beans, hot sauce, tomatoes, diced onions, rice, guacamole, sliced jalapeños, chips, and red strips.

Taco Bell's Vegan MEat

Vegan Meat to Come

Liz Matthews, Taco Bell’s Global Chief Food Innovation Officer, teased “We have long been a leader in the vegetarian space, but this year, we have more meatless options in store that vegetarians, veggie-curious, and even meat-eaters will love.”

The company has partnered with Beyond Meat to develop brand-specific, plant-based meats and also created its own Taco Bell Test Kitchen versions. Despite rumors that Taco Bell canceled its collaboration with Beyond Meat, rest assured, that the two companies are still working together to develop vegan carne asada.

While vegan-friendly items have come and gone, we’ll be the first to spread the word when either of these vegan eats makes it to the permanent menu.